Customer Acquisition Cost: The One Metric That Can Determine Your Company’s Fate
Kissmetrics
MARCH 2, 2021
They can determine a company’s profitability by looking at the difference between how much money can be extracted from customers and the costs of extracting it. For example, if a company spent $100 on marketing in a year and acquired 100 customers in the same year, their CAC is $1.00. The second (Example 2) has a great one.
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